my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  VoivodFan   » The Prow   » MY MEMORIES OF PIGGY.....

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: MY MEMORIES OF PIGGY.....
VOIVODFAN
VoivodFan
Member # 404

posted August 28, 2005 13:08     Profile for VOIVODFAN   Email VOIVODFAN     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
My Name is Lloyd Sevigny,
I'm a bassist living in Montreal.
when I heard that Piggy had fallen ill, I had no idea that two days later he would be gone.
My jaw literaly dropped and immediately started to sob. Why is it that whenever someone famous is starting something new {i.e.-damageplan} they are taken from us ?!
VOIVOD has been my favorite band for over fifteen years and I've loved every single note that the band have ever played.
Maybe now we'll have a propper Voivod tribute album. Several bands and artists have cited Voivod and Piggy as major influences in how to make metal or any music for that matter sound different and unique. I've heard everyone from THERION, KATAKLYSM, FAITH NO MORE, SEPULTURA, CADAVER, CRADLE OF FILTH, PRIMUS/LES CLAYPOOL, MEMBERS OF THE NEW MEGADETH speak of them as if they really were the quintissencial avantgarde metal band. This isn't even scratching the surface !
During the PHOBOS tour my band got to open for them for three shows. It was one of my dreams to be on the stage as the mighty Voivod. It was so surreal and seemed to go by in a flash, but I'll always remember when I went up to introduce myself to Denis that he was like me very quite. Almost as if he was writing riffs in his head or just taking in a scene. He was polite and respectful and always had a big smile whenever I complemented something about Voivod.
DENIS "PIGGY" D'AMOUR- YOU WILL NEVER EVER BE FORGOTTEN. I LOVED YOU AND YOUR MUSIC WILL LIVE ON IN ME EVERY TIME I LISTEN TO THIS AMAZING BAND.