my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  VoivodFan   » Cosmic Drama   » old fan catching up

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: old fan catching up
izgoblin
VoivodFan
Member # 178

posted January 10, 2003 09:23     Profile for izgoblin   Email izgoblin     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hello all,

I've been a fan of Voivod since my high school chum told me that their music was "annoying" back in '88. Thus, when I saw their name come up on MTV's Headbanger's Ball, I was sure to listen closely. What I heard was "Tribal Convictions" which I believe(d) to be a perfect song. And thus, my fandom was born.

Amazingly, while I have been listening to Voivod on and off for so many years, I only just found this site. I read a lot yesterday, but I am hoping that some of you could answer a few questions for me. Admittedly, I didn't read every post in the forum already and I *know* much of this has been discussed a thousand times before, so please bare with me.

1) I read that Mechanic screwed with ANGEL RAT and that specifically "Clouds in my House" and "The Prow" were not mixed to the band's liking. Are there other tracks on the CD that were remixed without the band's input? Am I to assume then that the versions I hear on the CD are not how the band intended them to sound?

2) Why exactly do so many people criticize the production of ANGEL RAT? I personally think the CD sounds great - every instrument is perfectly clear, and the bass response is satisfactory. Aside from NOTHINGFACE, it sounds to me to be the most well-produced Snake-era Voivod album.